Amelia’s Magazine FASHION POSTS from LONDON FASHION WEEK A/W 2011: No.12 Amanda Wakeley


Amanda Wakeley LFW A/W 2011; Illustration by Gemma Milly

It was my last day at London Fashion Week. Still buzzing on the love of the razzamatazz, yet requiring an Americano and little slap in the face. How I longed for some Chanel Vuluminaire, Touche Eclat and M.A.C Ruby Woo, to aid me through the day with added oomph. The tools of the 18 hour wintery days. But alas I made do with my Revlon Fire and Ice coral lips and a snappy new fringe cut by Toni and Guy in the press area. Those with the manicured lives stood by me, and I hoped the power of osmosis would have my diary timetabled and my excitable eyes dulled slightly by the strength of being effortlessly chic. Nonchalence I fear, will only ever be mine when I am living in France, as an older woman. Then I will able to wear pearls. And walk around my (owned) open spaces with a small smile, wearing a long, jade green, floating dress – and of course, Chanel. Alas, until the time my eyes have seen more, and I am contented in my ambition, they will shine like the excitable rabbit in Spring. I hope one day this will be the key to the door and the foxes will welcome me into their fold, until then I watch. As well as write, chatter and bask in this externally dreary day that is London Fashion Week’s last – for the women, the ladies, you and I. Inside the show is ALIVE.

FOR THE FULL ARTICLE CLICK HERE

Leave a Reply

