morning dragon

This morning a dragon was breathing heavily right by our bedroom window. Right next to our warm sleeping and dreaming shapes. It woke me up with its deep woooshes of air, ‘vroooooom’, ‘vroooooom’. I slowly opened my eyes to bright sunshine shooting in through the window. I believed a space ship had ferried our bedroom away, like the bear in Whatever Next, by Jill Murphy. We were floating, right next to a dragon. But, I realised eventually, that I was at home, on earth and the dragon was a hot air balloon flying low over our house. But my imagination let me believe it was a dragon. Just for a few seconds.

Leave a Reply

